21
Feb
11

shackles

 

“I guess this means I’m family,” I said, after Eva handed me the near-empty chocolate ice cream container and a spoon.

Jerry’s the only other person I’ve seen eating the remains of an ice cream batch out of that container. I felt honored, and Eva wasn’t even going to charge me.

Eva claimed there wasn’t enough ice cream left to fill a single order, but I’m not so sure of that. It seemed like a regular double-order to me, except this time I had to pay attention and not get chocolate on my forearm (brown knuckles were unavoidable).

I like to think of myself as being so damned free and independent, but the truth is my heart is chained to the Shack. I rely on my daily visit there in the same way a prisoner in solitary confinement must rely on his one-hour shackled release to the exercise yard.

There’s a parallel there, but no comparability. My own solitude is so much pleasanter than a prisoner’s.

I’ve been hearing about the anguish being suffered by 15-year-old Colt Lundy now that he is in 23-hour-a-day solitary confinement at Wabash Valley Correctional Facility. The boy’s torture and mental deterioration have been like uninvited shade-like visitors at the door. I wish they would go away and leave me in peace.

The other night, Colt was so distraught that the only way he could be silenced is the prison authorities shot him up with drugs. These shades are menacing and they will not leave me alone.

I wish I could send the kid some of Eva’s “Love Shack” ice cream. Colt needs a shot or two of love each day, not a solution from a syringe.

I wish the shades would go to Judge Reed’s door instead.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to The Ramones performing “I Wanna Be Sedated”


12 Responses to “shackles”


  1. 1 Wolfgang
    February 21, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    About Colt, why doesn’t that raise questions in the media? To lock up a child in 23 hour solitary would be charged with child abuse outside the prison. The correctional facility is responsible for the welfare of the inmates and especially for the very young inmates! If they can’t treat him in a proper way Colt doesn’t belong in that facility. I won’t imagine if Paul Henry was brought to Wabash also.

  2. 2 Matt
    February 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Perhaps we were on the same wavelength last night, Dan; I had a pretty rough night myself. If your reports are true, Colt Lundy appears to be self destucting, perhaps due to fear, guilt, dispair, loneliness, isolation, etc., and without extensive intervention, he has little chance to make it through this mess to a positive future. The medical staff may turn him into a drug-induced zombie if they feel it necessary to control him, but it is doubtful they will improve his conditions and address the root causes of his current problems. He is most assuredly not the first inmate to experience such issues, and I’m sure the facility/staff have a protocol which they must follow in addressing such cases, but this is most certainly a troubling turn of events for a 15 year old boy with 140 long months left to serve.

    Last night, in my sleep deprived numbness, I wrote a letter to Colt Lundy. My words were positive and encouraging, and I spoke of strength, love, hope, and overcoming adversity, but now I question if he will be in any condition to understand my message, God’s message.

    De profundis clamavi ad te, Domine;
    Domine exaudi vocem meam

    • 3 Matt
      February 21, 2011 at 11:10 pm

      My wife just chided me for not explaining the Latin verse at the end of my last post. It is from Psalm 130; From the depths I cry to you, Lord; Lord hear my voice.

      • 4 Gloria
        February 21, 2011 at 11:33 pm

        :)
        Fiant aures tua intendentes
        in vocem deprecationis mea.
        Si iniquitates observaveris, Domine, Domine, quis sustinebit?
        Quia apud te propitiatio est; et propter legem tuam sustinui te, Domine.
        Sustinuit anima mea in verbo ejus:
        Speravit anima mea in Domino.
        A custodia matutina usque ad noctem, speret Israel in Domino.
        Quia apud Dominum misericordia, et copiosa apud eum redemptio.
        Et ipse redimet Israel ex omnibus iniquitatibus ejus.

        Let your ears be attentive
        to my voice in supplication:
        If you, O Lord, mark iniquities,
        Lord, who can stand?
        But with you is forgiveness,
        that you may be revered.
        I trust in the Lord;
        my soul trusts in his word.
        My soul waits for the Lord,
        more than sentinels wait for the dawn.
        More than sentinels wait for the dawn,
        let Israel wait for the Lord;
        For with the Lord is kindness
        and with him is plenteous redemption;
        And he will redeem Israel from all their iniquities

      • 5 Gloria
        February 21, 2011 at 11:39 pm

        sorry, but damn smiley, didn’t have that happy smile on my face right now.

      • 6 Matt
        February 21, 2011 at 11:51 pm

        Thank you for finishing that psalm, Gloria. To me, it is rivaled only by the 23rd Psalm in its power and meaning. Let us pray that God hears this boy’s lonely cries from the depths of his dispair, and brings him comfort and hope.

  3. 7 stephen
    February 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Adult prisons and Juvenile facilities are all very strict in nature with all inmates. To me-much of the power play SOME staff/CO’S use especially with juveniles is way over the top-and can be construed as abusive in nature. If one of us were to treat a child in the nature that some kids are being treated by Wabash, and other facilities across the US-CPS would come in and take the child from us and we would be cited for mistreatment of the child. My statement here is going to be strong in nature-but what some kids were/are being put through any way you cut it-is state sanctioned child abuse.

    Colt continues to be listed as a Level 4 inmate at Wabash-Level 4 is Maximum-Security, no child should ever have to be put through those rigors day after day. Someone who I care about very much endured that at Wabash for months-due to “issues” and he had many problems with guards spouting remarks that would cut like a knife. Solitary Confinement is used as a punishment mechanism-but to leave a child in that sort of an environment for any length of time is cruel. Colt has problems, but he has been hurt by a lot of people for years. Show Colt some positive treatment-and he will leave the negativity of his past behind him.

  4. 8 Gloria
    February 21, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    why this can be done to a child without punishment? I don’t know how that people can sleep at night. I wish those shades would go to Judge Reed’s door too. But bet my soul that man sleeps like a baby, no conscience at all left on him.

  5. 9 Jeanne
    February 22, 2011 at 1:37 am

    We need to do something to help this boy. He needs to be somewhere with in-depth counseling and he needs to feel safe.

    It is very hard to believe this is going on. What can we do?

  6. 10 sam
    January 1, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Do you know the latest on colt and how he is doing? I understood he has no one putting funds on his commissary account?? I think as a mother myself i feel like I need to help this young man any way possible if he sees positive strangers who care about him and want to help him make it i think he will make it!! And start thinking positive! What is his mother and g father’s name?? Why don’t his mother support him.. I just don’t understand??

    • 11 UKscot
      February 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

      If someone could tell me what a commissary account is, I would contribute to it for Colt Lundy. It wouldn’t be much but i know from experience (of poverty) every little helps. Does anyone know if cases like this (children in adult prisons) have been taken before the UN? (If the UN deal with this sort of thing, i.e ‘state sponsored child abuse’).
      The US and UK governments seem quite willing and eager to ‘knock’ on the door of other countries to inform them that their treatment of their citizens is inhumane and unlawful and would they kindly put an end to it.
      We in the UK seem to be following in the footsteps of America by recently saying the use of LWOP sentencing is lawful. Thankfully at this stage it is only to be used on adults who have committed the most heinous of crimes but who knows if one day we will look across the water and follow suit by handing it down to under 18s. God forbid.

      • 12 Sam
        March 17, 2014 at 7:09 am

        There is no problem with LWOP/WLO sentences for some adults; people like Peter Sutcliffe or Michael Adebolajo should have got that, or even the death penalty. Thankfully you can’t get a whole life order until you’re 21 though.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

