24
Jun
11

summer songs 1

I’m going to be busy working all weekend on a writing project, and I will not have the time or attention to create thoughtful posts until Monday morning.

So I have an idea with which I need your help.

Let’s devote the weekend to the music which epitomizes summer—songs from the summers of your youth, from vacations remembered, music that was played on transistor radios at the beach or on the car radio during nighttime summer drives with girlfriends and boyfriends.

Give me your suggestions of favorite summer songs in the comments to this post or send me an e-mail at sowelo2000@yahoo.com. If you’re so moved, share a favorite summertime memory with the suggestion.

Let’s have some fun with this.

I’ll start the beachball rolling with today’s Groove, an “earworm” song from 1958 when I was ten. It reminds me of lazy, hazy days spent at our club’s swimming pool while my mom was playing golf. This song may drive you nuts, but for me it is a signature summer song that reminds me of carefree childhood days when Mom and Dad paid for everything.

Now… share your favorite summer song.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to The Jamies performing “Summertime, Summertime”


5 Responses to “summer songs 1”


  1. 1 Matt
    June 24, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Summer 1968, I was eleven and working in the fields, with the not so small transistor radio blaring out Steppenwolf’s Born To Be Wild. Dreams of freedom and a different life.

  2. 2 Elizabeth in VT
    June 24, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Under the Boardwalk (1964)
    Surfin Safari (1962)
    Surfer Girl/Little Deuce Coupe (1963)

  3. 3 Wolfgang
    June 24, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    -Under the boardwalk comes immediately in my mind also

    For me there are also:
    Surfing U.S.A: (Beach Boys)
    No women no cry (Bob Marley)
    I’m Gonna Be 500 Miles (The Proclaimers)
    in German spelling: Freiheit (Marius Mueller Westernhagen)

  4. 4 alawyer
    June 24, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Read this motion that was filed in the Cristian Fernadez case in Florida.

    http://www.news4jax.com/download/2011/0623/28334104.pdf

    And summer songs for me were camp songs – BTW – I want to Linger; John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt; etc…

  5. 5 Margo
    June 24, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Five O’Clock World – The Vogues
    Summer in the City – Lovin’ Spoonful
    For What It’s Worth – Buffalo Springfiekd
    Hot Fun In the Summertime – Sly and the Family Stone
    Magic Bus – The Who

    The Soundtrack of Summer. . .


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

