28
Apr
12

more visitor feedback

I’ve been having my fun each day playing D.J. with the “Grooves of the Day,” but frankly, I’ve wondered at times if anybody really cares. Even on days with very heavy traffic, only a small number of visitors listen to the day’s Groove.

At first my feelings were bruised that so many people were missing the mood, the poetry, the humor, the irony, the added dimension of meaning the Grooves bring to each post.

But then I just said, “Screw it.”

I’m doing the music piece because it’s my passion and my hobby. I learn more about music and music artists each day. Finding just the right soundtrack for each post pleases me, even if most visitors don’t notice.

If some people are content to look at the GIF animations I’ve been introducing lately, and doing so without sound, that’s okay. Some people prefer eating hamburgers and hot dogs without the buns. Some people just listen to television without watching. It’s all good.

I’m gratified there are still enough readers in our culture to be making a “readers’ blog” like this popular. A shocking proportion of people just don’t read anymore. I love it when people tell me their day isn’t complete without a visit to the Diary, that it’s become an important part of their routine.

Last night I did the first-ever real analysis of visitor clicks on the blog’s music selections. Even though listenership is only a fraction of visitorship, I was pleasantly surprised. With the exception of one song, those who do click on the music appear to be listening to selections I would designate as “musts” versus “optional.”

But here’s the thing that really thrills me. Last spring I had the idea that I should begin interviewing young music artists and doing in-depth stories about kids who are soaring in the pursuit of their dreams—as a counterbalance to the stories I write about kids who are living nightmares.

The first such young performer I profiled was British chorister Andrew Swait.

And who do you think emerged as the most listened-to artist in the analysis? Andrew Swait!

His performance of “Nunc Dimittis” was far and away in first place above all others, and he was tied with other artists (including the likes of George Harrison and Julian Lennon) for fourth, fifth, and seventh places out of ten. My experiment’s apparently working!

This realization has come to me just two days after I’ve gotten another young singer, songwriter, and musician to agree to do a similar interview. His indy rock band is going stratospheric right now and touring and performing to international acclaim. I’ll keep the details under wraps for now, but I feel a little like a prescient guy who has just gotten John Lennon to agree to an interview at the Cavern Club in 1961.

So, for what it’s worth, here are the results of the analysis of what you’ve been listening to on this blog. All of the song titles are live links in case you want to listen to the songs again (and further skew the totals your way).

You click, and I’ll count ‘em.

 

۞ 

Grooves of the Day 

Visitors’ “Top Ten” Rankings 

(19 Artists, 23 Songs, Just 10 Places)

 

#1 Andrew Swait“Nunc Dimittis” (Burgon)

#2 Rab Noakes “Psycho Killer”

#3 Leon Redbone“Breeze”

#4 Andrew Swait & Sam Harris – “Mouth of the Dumb” (MacMillan); Patience & Prudence“Tonight You Belong to Me”

#5 Andrew Swait – “Pie Jesu” (Fauré) ; George Harrison“Marwa Blues”

#6 Fritz Wunderlich – “Ännchen von Tharau” ; Richard Wagner“O du Mein Holder Abendstern”

#7 Andrew Swait & the King’s Singers– “Even Such is Time” (Chilcott) ; Jehan Alain – “Le Jardin Suspendu” ; Julian Lennon – “Valotte” ; Page Foster – “Alive” ; Glenn Miller“Ding Dong the Witch Is Dead”

#8 MGMT – “Kids” ; Unknown Artist – “Heimat deine Sterne”

#9 Rina Ketty – “J’attendrai” ; Andreas Scholl“Agnus Dei” (Bach) ; Thelma Camacho“Surrender to Me”; Leningrad Cowboys & Red Army Chorus – “Gimme All Your Lovin’” ; Ben Folds & Regina Spektor“You Don’t Know Me”

#10 Trevor Reichman – “Bad, Bad, Bad” ; Trevor Reichman“Doomsday Sunday Sermon”


3 Responses to “more visitor feedback”


  1. 1 matt
    April 28, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Actually, I do read the titles everyday, but don’t always take time to listen to the tune. Some I have the recording for, some don’t trip my trigger, and some evoke memories of other times without actually listening. I enjoy making the mental connection between the song title you have chosen to the theme of the day’s blog; usually obvious, but sometimes more challenging. It’s a daily mental game; just one of the things I enjoy about the blog. Is it a waste? That’s your call, but I enjoy your selections, even when I don’t have time to listen.

  2. 2 Jeffrey
    April 28, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    Dan I have listened to a few tunes but I am one of those music nuts who has heard or has everything you play. I grew up in a home flooded with the swing bands of Harry James, the Dorseys and Glen Miller. As a child of the sixties I lived for the beatles and all that came after them. I started piano in the second grade,trumpet in the sixth and by the early teens purchased my first guitar thinking to be the next Clapton,Hendrix or Beck. I have seen people from Buddy Rich to your recent choice Joe Satriani play live. I love all kinds of music except rap and modern country, although I do like classic country and bluegrass. I never became the guitar hero I dreamed of as a teen but another 13 year old boy who saw Eric Clapton play live was so inspired he did make it, that being Eddie Van Halen.
    I would like to recommend a bluegrass group I have been listening to since seeing them on Letterman. They are called the Sleepy Man Banjo Boys, ages 9,12 and 14 and they are truly gifted with talent. They have their own channel on Youtube.
    If you take request you could play and dedicate to our troubled boys a cautionary song, Mama Told Me Not To Come by Three Dog Night.

    • April 28, 2012 at 6:02 pm

      This D.J. does take requests. Thanks. Be watching (uhh, I mean listening) for it!

      As luck would have it–and not to be outdone–I once partied with Three Dog Night at their motel after a concert at my college. It wasn’t anything like “Almost Famous.”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

