30
Apr
12

karma

What goes around comes around. It’s a law of the Universe that’s pretty easy to forget when you see so many people profiting handsomely from their selfish and evil ways.

It’s easy to think there’s no justice in the world.

A couple days ago I learned that a guy out here who has been a particular thorn in my side has been experiencing hard times. This is a poseur who presumes to speak for God, who judges others harshly, who acts in hateful ways while deluding himself into thinking that he’s modeling “tough love.”

Now his life is falling apart, he is drinking heavily, and who knows what else? There’s a part of me that wants to reach out and comfort him, but I’m not going to do it. It’s better to stand back and let Karma teach him what it will.

Plus, ever since I heard the news, I’ve been experiencing a feeling of… well, I don’t know exactly how to say this because I don’t want to sound like a person who delights in the pain and unhappiness of others… but I have been feeling a lightness of being, a bounce in my step, like all is right in the world. He doesn’t need to see me gloat.

Yet that doesn’t quite get to the heart of it. I’d have to say I’m feeling a sense of reassurance, peace, and confidence that there is indeed such a thing as cosmic order.

On a certain scale, everything makes perfect sense.

۞

Groove of the Day 

Listen to Big Star performing “You Get What You Deserve”

.

(postscript)

The story has entered a new and (for me) happy chapter. At the end of May my neighbors informed me that the poseur has moved away for good. His wife left him and, without her income to live off of, he was forced to move someplace else where he can find work.

He claims to have sold his property for more than he paid for it, but this is a dubious claim on two counts. First, we have seen no new people visiting there (as you might expect a new buyer to do). And second, I know for a fact that he paid four times the going rate for the property when he bought it in the first place. It is unlikely he would have found a “greater fool” so readily.

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood again–every day!


4 Responses to “karma”


  1. 1 matt
    April 30, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    An article of general interest to blog followers: Why Are We Criminalizing Kids?

    http://shine.yahoo.com/parenting/kindergartener-charged-battery-why-criminalizing-kids-175600847.html

  2. April 30, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    I agree with you Dan, is good to see there is in some way something called cosmic order. Not saying I enjoy seeing someone suffer either but it always come to the same, Karma is a bitch…

    About the article Matt provide us I can only sigh in complete frustration. sickening the ways childrens are treated in schools. And then we will ask Why….?

  3. May 1, 2012 at 1:02 am

    Hi there Dan, yes, it is good to see that some who gives others a hard time get their come-uppance. Whilst, like you, one does not revel in someone else’s suffering, but it, as we say, what goes around, comes around. A pity that some people dont realise this. Cheers. £ance.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

