27
May
12

redneck country club

I’ve been spending more time at the Grub Shack than ever before.

A few weeks ago, after dropping over $100 at the general store in Terlingua for just a modest amount of food and paying for gas on top of that, I had a brainstorm. Why not spend more money at the Grub Shack instead? I figured I would come out ahead financially… plus, this arrangement appeals to my natural distaste for meal preparation and clean-up, and the social experience would slow the steady drift towards eccentricity which accompanies too much isolation.

So I created a “reverse tab” at the Shack, making advance payments that are worked down over the course of each week. So far this arrangement is quite satisfactory, plus my relationship with the establishment just seems so much less transactional, which I prefer. It takes me back to the days when I was a kid and I ate for free at a restaurant our family owned. I feel like “family” again.

Yesterday I made two visits to the Shack, once for breakfast and once for an early supper. I met new people both times (including the cousin of a former US President, who invited me to visit his home to trade yarns) and I reconnected with old friends, as well. You never know who you will run into at the Grub Shack. As its fame grows, people are driving to the Shack from farther and farther away.

When I arrived the second time, Whitebear was there visiting with Cinch. Whitebear is one of my best friends and we talk by phone a couple times a week, but I see him only rarely. Then my hermit friend Val showed up (longtime readers will remember Val from our movie nights, which fell by the wayside long ago). The last time I saw Val was on the Winter Solstice. Val said he is making a greater effort these days to get out among other people. Cinch made Val feel so welcome, I’m hoping Val will become a frequent Shack visitor too.

After Whitebear and Val each departed, a Mercedes SUV pulled up, and a family of three came in. It was George and Anita Goss, and their 2-year-old daughter Kaylee. George is a local musician and songwriter, and after a little while he fetched his guitar from the car.

“What we got here is a redneck country club,” George announced approvingly, and proceeded to entertain us while Kaylee marched around the table demonstrating just how cool it is to wear green sunglasses upside-down.

“Kaylee marches to her own beat,” her mother commented proudly. Yeah, we all do out here, and the Grub Shack is one place where we all get along.

I would have stayed there much longer, but a big storm came up suddenly. I had to get home to shut my windows.

۞

Grooves of the Day 

Listen to George Goss performing “Ain’t No Honky Tonks in Jail”


9 Responses to “redneck country club”


  1. 1 Andy Rich
    May 27, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Lol i just realised what the grub shack actually is, i was expecting some kinda cafe diner place on a long empty road in the middle of no where, kinda like in the movies, but wow, its a caravan! im actually impressed seems so easy goin, i fancy some food now :(

  2. May 27, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Andy, I’m glad you figured it out. Now you can see its charm. The Grub Shack is so basic, some people from the outside might even mistake it for an inconsequential dump… but it’s the best we have and we love it.

  3. 3 Andy Rich
    May 27, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    The food is much likley to be better than what i would get from one of the greasy spoon cafes around here lol eg kfc or burger king! i prefer proper grub :D but somehow i couldnt see something like that lasting here before some politically correct person from david camerons cabinet office came along and said the words “Health & Safety, You’re Closed”
    England is so crap in that sense

  4. 7 Andy Rich
    May 27, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Simple, Im 28, got my own place with no one to goto pub with :P convienience, beside the pub is further to walk to lol

    • May 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      I used to be the same way, and wouldn’t go to places alone. But after I started flying solo, I found I was never alone because I kept meeting new people. I’d say go where the good pub food is, buy some girl a pint, and leave crap American fast food to others.

  5. 9 Dan
    May 29, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Dan:

    Thanks for sharing that video. I enjoyed the song. Terlingua has some really interesting history and the song tells some of it. Also glad to hear the Grub Shack continues to flourish. It’s a local landmark for sure.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

