02
Aug
12

false compliments

Unless you are a blogger, you are probably unaware of the current scam for building traffic to a website. It involves making comments on other people’s blogs and including in your comment a link to your site.

On this blogsite, for example, there have been 4,156 legitimate comments to 900 posts so far. (Thank you!) I have a spam comment filter set up on this site that has automatically blocked 13,923 spam comments that would try to sell you everything from boner pills to beachfront timeshares in Third World war zones.

Nevertheless, every day I have to manually go through a whole bunch of comments my spam filter isn’t smart enough to trash without my discerning judgment. Today there are 26 missives trapped and waiting for my review, and almost all of them are false compliments which pander to the presumed neediness of my retarded ego:

“i really appreciate coming here everyday to see what’s new on your website, and i already told a bunch of my friends to do the same.” (Oh wow. Thanks a bunch.)

Someone selling scratch remover for car paint repair asks: “Hey this is a wonderful looking site, is wordpress? Forgive me for the foolish question but if so, what theme is? Thanks!” (Answer: At bottom of the screen theme is.)

“This is one of the best blogs I’ve ever seen. You should post more often.” (More often than every day?!)

Elise, who is selling pharmaceuticals, says: “sweet and nice, that’s how you did it here. although adding a bit more relevant content might be helpful to the article” (I’ll get on that right away.)

And the one honest spam commenter writes: “Hi I’m a scammer, check out my site.” (I’m almost tempted to do so! Seriously.)

We live in a world of so many lies that even the liars are fooled by their own words.

I recently cut off a fellow who was extracting time and resources from me on the basis of fabrications and deceptions, whereupon he turned things around and accused me of betraying him. His accusations were so anguished and heartfelt, I almost fell for it.

Maybe it is my fault after all. He was always telling me how smart I am and I believed him.

Duh.

۞

Groove of the Day 

Listen to The Beatles performing “Tell Me Why”


7 Responses to “false compliments”


  1. 1 matt
    August 3, 2012 at 6:27 am

    SPAM, a portmanteau of the words “Spiced” and “Ham”, by Hormel, aka Stuff Posing As Meat. Alt. flooding the internet with unwanted email.

    Monty Python SPAM, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anwy2MPT5RE

    OBTW: Don’t be embarrassed, but I do like your site and appreciate all you are doing for the kids! LOL

  2. 2 andy rea
    August 3, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Wow Dan you are really really reallllly smart!!!!!!!!!!

  3. 4 Rob
    August 3, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Dan, you might be surprised by the number of readers who follow your posts but never leave comments. Until now, I was one of those people. I live in a rural part of Shelby county about 20 miles outside the Memphis city limits. I came across your blog while searching the web for more information on the James Prindle story a week or so before the trial was set to start. I’ll admit that if all I had to base my opinion on was the local media coverage, I would have been satisfied with the “guilty” verdict and wished him well in adult prison. However, the local media’s pathetic coverage of the story left me with some haunting questions: “What was James’ motive for committing the assault and why pick that particular day when there were so many in the apartment?” “Why, out of everyone who was in the apartment that day, was he the only one singled out and charged?” When I began reading the insight you had into the case, things began to make sense. And I was hooked. I had to honestly consider that there was indeed another side to this sad story…one that has only been told here and not in the court where it should have been brought out in the open from the very beginning. I only hope that the lawyer you have working to free James is worthy of your trust. I will continue to visit here daily until there is some finality in James’ case. What you do must certainly be a labor of love…and you have my highest respect. I could not do what you do. I would lose all faith in people and perhaps lose the ability to hope. Please keep up the hard work.
    Rob

    • August 3, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      Rob, I am so glad you decided to leave a comment. Thank you.

      You may be surprised that far from becoming demoralized by this work, I find it uplifting. As I have said from time to time, these cases bring out the best and the worst in people. As I was explaining today to a young woman who works for Katie Couric’s new show on ABC, in the early days I was demoralized and frustrated by the work–but I have been at it long enough that my expectations of the System have changed. My expectations of the System are rarely disappointed anymore. It delivers what I expect it to.

      Where my expectations are exceeded is by people like you, our donors, and so many kind and compassionate people who do care and speak up and sacrifice and act in such unselfish and loving ways that I cannot help but have renewed hope in humanity.

      It only takes a small minority of people to change the world, and I am blessed to meet such splendid representatives of that minority through this work.

    • 6 matt
      August 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Welcome, Rob. I hope you’ll stay with us and get involved, if you are inclined.

  4. August 7, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Ok Dan…Now I am kinda glad I left that comment one time about you having freaked me out with the limbs in the bucket picture. Ha! So, much for being nervous on how you’d react. LOL


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

