26
Jun
11

summer songs 3

Apparently everyone is outside enjoying these deliciously long days.

I received only one suggestion of a summer song yesterday. Even my chickens aren’t laying eggs these days. (Only three eggs in four days!)

Everybody’s got other things to do.

But that’s okay. I have enough of your suggestions to serve as a starting-point today.

Most of the remaining recommendations from visitors fall into two additional thematic categories: songs about Freedom, and songs about Summer Romance.

 

Freedom

Matt wrote of the summer 1968 when he was eleven and working in the fields, and his transistor radio was blaring  Steppenwolf’s Born To Be Wild. He said that song reminds him of his dreams of freedom and having a different life.

Wolfgang suggested Marius Müller-Westernhagen’s“Freiheit” (freedom), an anthem-like 2003 song that’s popular with multiple generations of Germans and is widely associated with dramatic post-war world developments in which Germany has been ground-zero. “Freedom, Freedom / is the only thing that matters” goes the song’s refrain.

Also suggested were “Freebird by Lynard Skynard,” “Mother Freedom” by Bread, “People Got To Be Free” by the Young Rascals, “School’s Out for Summer” by Alice Cooper, and “Free Ride” by the Edgar Winter Group.

But of all the suggestions I received, I think you will be most interested in hearing Alex King’s suggestion of a song by his favorite Southern rock group, the Zac Brown Band:

 

Next week I will be asking you to help with an activity that Alex has asked me to carry out on his behalf—an act of loyalty and compassion that he himself is not free to do but which,  if he were free and not being held in solitary confinement, would command his full will and attention. In this respect—and through me and you—Alex will in a sense be free this summer, even though he is being cruelly and unforgivingly detained by the State of Florida.

 

Summer Romance

You gave me lots of suggestions that fall into this category. Wolfgang suggested Bob Marley’s “No Woman No Cry.” Diane suggested Robin Ward’s “Wonderful Summer ,” a song I’ve already put up as a Groove. Bill suggested Roy Orbison’s “Summer Song,” and his “Pretty Woman” was suggested by another reader.

Margo said the Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Summer in the City” and Sly and the Family Stone’s “Hot Fun in the Summertime” were parts of the summer soundtrack of her youth, and Linda said Chad and Jeremy’s “A Summer Song” was a part of hers. Aerosmith’s “Girls of Summer” and  Mungo Jerry’s “In the Summertime” were other suggestions.

I think this song by Brian Adams–an American classic—captures the feelings of a lot of the music you suggested:

 

Not all your suggestions recall pleasant summers. Bananarama’s “Cruel Summer” and Eddie Cochran’s “Summertime Blues” remind us of those months when we found ourselves home alone. (Bob Dylan’s “Lay Lady Lay” always reminds me of one lovelorn summer when I was home from school and separated from Holly.)

But I prefer to focus on memories of the happiest summers. I have good associations with today’s Groove, and hope you do too.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Janis Joplin at Woodstock performing “Summertime”


8 Responses to “summer songs 3”


  1. 1 abram
    June 26, 2011 at 10:46 am

    I’m late but here are a couple of mine:
    A couple of songs I really liked in my youth which I still like today are;
    Heart of Gold by Neil Young and Born to Be Wild by Steppenwolf.

  2. 2 matt
    June 26, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    You know my excuse. Had a great time yesterday playing old favorites on guitar with an old friend I hadn’t seen in twenty years.

  3. 3 Wolfgang
    June 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Those are all great songs, I like them all. Unfortunately I’m on vacation and on a very slow dial up connection, so I can’t listen to all those songs, but I will when I’m home again.

  4. 6 Gloria
    June 27, 2011 at 6:16 am

    Here Comes The Sun – George Harrison
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_dBwJDUlS4
    what about this one. Summer nights LOL

  5. 7 Wolfgang
    June 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    One more comes in my mind
    PETULA CLARK
    “Downtown”

  6. 8 Amber
    June 28, 2011 at 12:41 am

    Dan,

    You are very much right about Alex, He is always very happy. Others must keep in mind Alex’s impression of a smile could simply be something he wants to see in other people. Happiness. Something He deserves so much, and as you said the State of Florida really does have him detained. They can take Alex King away from loved ones, at least try. I will still stay by his side, through letters even if they are 10 pages long each time like they have been :-p. Alex does what his mind/thoughts tell him to, his dedication is never-ending if he feels a passion for something.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

