09
Oct
11

beautiful

Last night I was invited by Jewish friends to attend a meal in observance of their day of atonement, Yom Kippur. I was honored and a little surprised that they broke their 24-hour fast with drinks taken from a bottle of scotch whiskey I’d brought to the gathering as an offering. They said the whiskey was a Jewish tradition. I hadn’t known that.

After the religious intolerance I have been experiencing recently, it was a relief to be among people who were discussing religious and spiritual beliefs without judgment and with genuine curiosity and mutual respect. Differences in views and belief were not met with discomfort or thinly veiled suspicion and hostility, but with openness and acceptance.

It was easy to feel comfort in this company, to feel gratitude and even love for these people. Even though the assembled guests represented a diversity of beliefs, there was a unifying spirit present that was, I think, something holy and true. It was beautiful.

Trevor Reichman, one of the organizers of the evening, surprised us with a performance of his music. (In case you are relatively new to the Diary, I profiled Trevor in my April 16, 2011 post.) He closed his set with today’s Groove.

It made me laugh last night. I hope it gives you a chuckle, too.

۞ 

Groove of the Day 

Listen to Trevor Reichman performing “Doomsday Sunday Sermon”


1 Response to “beautiful”


  1. October 10, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Hey Dan, Like you, I have some very dear Jewish friends, and we also shared a very emotional night celebrating the end of Yom Kippur. I had a great friend, Ziggy (Isaac) Rosen, who used to always regale me with “how much you [£ance] know about my faith). We used to have some great nights celebrating their traditional high days & believe me, I felt as if my right arm was cut off when I heard of his passing. It must have been a wonderful night for you brother, as I have said before, there is much for us all to gain from the great religious traditions (don’t start me about the right-wing fundos who have been giving you a hard time). Just keep positive mate and as I said to Lewis (the Aussie kid who is detained in Bali at the moment [and as I am always saying to Alex] – BE STRONG, you will prevail). Take care mate. £ance.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

