22
Jan
12

in the garden

When I selected the Groove for yesterday’s post, for me there was absolutely no question about the choice. My favorite Protestant hymn has always been “In the Garden” because it reminds me of happy days at summer camp in the 1950s where each day began after breakfast (weather permitting) at the outdoor stone chapel.

“In the Garden” was said to have been the favorite hymn of our camp’s director, a kindly man named George A. Cooper whom everyone just called “Coop.” Chapel was the only place I ever remember seeing the old gentleman when he wasn’t making the rounds of the camp in his WWII-era Jeep.

The pathways, roads and terrain of that camp still figure prominently in my dreams to this day, as well as that old man in his Jeep.

I only went back to the camp once as an adult, and I found it to have been a disturbing experience. So many things had changed there since I was a little kid. Coop, of course, was long dead and so many new buildings had been built that did not preserve the costly stone and rough-hewn beam rustic architectural style that I remembered so fondly from my youth.

But then, everything about childhood has changed and darkened since those days of innocence. Yet, no matter what version I ever hear, the old hymn always takes me back to those bright and perfect days.

۞

Groove of the Day 

Listen to The Blackwood Brothers Quartet performing “In the Garden”


4 Responses to “in the garden”


  1. January 24, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    James – That’s my name too ! – i am a grandfather and love to help young people to find their path in life.
    To pick up on what Dan said about God being in you – God is in you when you are aware of the PRESENT MOMENT – the Now – Your Breath – a simple thing to do – but most of the time the hardest thing to do in the midst of the chaos around you. But when you do you are in control – you at peace.
    You Can Do IT !

  2. 2 £ance
    January 26, 2012 at 2:15 am

    Hi there Dan, Yes, it is one of my favourite songs too. Just don’t know how to describe it, but it has that “haunting” tune and the words are so comforting (for the want of a better description). Take care mate. Will talk (electronically) soon. Cheers. £ance (cannot get rid of that infernal pounds sign) I’ll have to “repent in sackcloth and ashes” over leading young Alex astray with this sign!!.

  3. 3 computer coupons australia
    June 2, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    With having so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagiorism or copyright infringement? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

    • June 2, 2013 at 9:03 pm

      I re-post a lot of content, especially pictures, and I pay for music and credit others when I rely on their content. I am glad when others pick my stuff up and re-post. It makes my site more popular, not to mention interesting. It’s all part of the game.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

