09
Jun
13

austin

Austin Eversole

I normally don’t take on Texas cases. With the death threats I often receive, it’s too dangerous. To a crazy, vengeful Texan, my extreme distance and isolation is no insulation at all.

But Austin Eversole has gotten past my defenses. I cannot ignore his pleadings for help and support just because he is from my home state. There is something about this kid that I like. I guess that it is his capacity for generosity, even though he is himself in desperate need. He believes that his story can help break the cycle of abuse for others. I like that.

I have gotten him a couple interviews in the international media already. I have included him in my will so he can be a part of Estella Vista when he is released (he liked that, as his own grandmother had disinherited him from his family’s ranch). But it is now time for me to jump in with both feet… so we will see where this goes.

In his own words:

My name is Austin Dylan Eversole. I am 20 years old. I’m serving a 40-year sentence for a patricide case in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Correctional Institutions Division. I was abused emotionally, physically, and covertly sexually by my father, Danny Eversole. I was 15 when I shot him, and I was in fear for my life when it happened. The abuse was not a one-time incident. It was a daily routine for me.

The abuse began before I was even born. In my mother’s (Pamela Eversole) first trimester of her pregnancy with me, my dad injured her so badly she got kidney damage. He abused her as well. She had to undergo treatment to save my life. My grandmother drove her to the hospital that day. From that time until my premature birth, my mom had to have monthly sonograms to see if I’d died. My birth was through an unplanned C-section, and I was an underdeveloped infant–all because of my dad.

At six years old I received a psychological evaluation from Dr. Ronald Palomoras. This is the age I remember the abuse starting. I have this evaluation in my possession. It notes my underdeveloped state and that I “met or exceeded state and federal eligibility requirements for a serious emotionally handicapping condition.” I was also diagnosed with Battered Child Syndrome, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.

From the very beginning of my life, I was torn between loving a monster who wanted to kill me and my mom, and a mother who was emotionally, financially, and physically inept and unable to care for me.

My dad often ostracized me, telling me that if I really loved him I would kill my mom. This was quite a tall order for a six-year-old. This same year, my dad took me and my mom to the beach in Galveston. At one point he felt I was walking too closely to our dog, he cussed at me and yelled. Enraged, he jerked the rope that was acting as the dog’s leash. It clothes-lined me and slammed me into the salt water, injuring my neck. I had a very nasty rope brn on my neck, which my mom got pictures of. It also hurt our dog.

I was still a child when they divorced. It was a bitter ordeal in which both parents used me to get back at the other. But, dad always had a deep-rooted hatred for my mom. His martinet-style of degradation of mom and me created anxious fear inside me. He beat her regularly. My brothers, who never saw this side of him, refuse to believe this. Dad always made threats directly to mom or to me that were directed at her. I lived in constant fear and worry that he would one day kill either me or mom, or both.

He told me something I will never forget: “Can’t wait until your wh-re of a mother is in the hospital. Then I can pull her plug and be happy. And, once she’s buried, I’m going to take a sh-t on the b-itch’s grave–and you’re going to watch.” It would always make me cry when he’d say things like this, but he seemed to enjoy seeing me hurt. I’d ask him to stop, but he’d keep on getting more vulgar as he went. He would call her the most vulgar and humiliating names I’ve heard. Eventually, he started calling me the same or similar names.

Around this time the abuse progressed. My mother got a restraining order against my dad, and custody of me. It worked for a while because things seemed to calm down for a while. Even so, I still had the problem of a mom who could not care for me or give me any meaningful attention. Then, when I was twelve, she was arrested on drug charges and I was ordered to go live with my dad.

Life was tolerable at first. My dad had $90,000 from a fraudulent insurance claim, so most of my material needs were met. Underneath his actions I could sense that he had strong resentment against me for siding with my mom. Once the money ran out (which didn’t take long), he returned to his old ways. He made me feel responsible for him on every level. I had to cook and prepare his meals to perfection, wash his dirty laundry, file his paperwork, do exhaustive computer research for his use at work, keep our huge lawn in a perfectly manicured state, maintain the pool and jacuzzi, care for our dog (who was terrified of him) walk to and from school, and do my own homework. It was inexcusable to bring home a failing grade.

It was inevitable that I’d make a mistake somewhere along the way. When I failed to care for him to his standards, the consequences were unforgiving. He was much bigger than me, and it scared me when he’d stoop and scream in my face. He’d charge after me and use force to make me correct whatever mistakes I’d made, calling me names the whole time. It felt dirty inside, in the sense that he was treating me like a spouse. Sometimes, when my friends or family members were there visiting, I would be stand-offish with him because he would not touch me in front of them. I’d usually pay dearly, though, when they left. My dad constantly played mind games with me. Learning to play them back was a means of survival.

My dad often removed his pants and spread open his buttocks and but it close to my face. He’d forcibly compel me to describe to him, in detail, what his anus looked like. When I had friends over, my dad would tell us how long his penis was as compared to a tape measure. He also had an odd habit of habitually urinating in the kitchen sink. Until I was 14 years old, my dad made me get down to my underwear and sleep in bed with him.

When my dad saw that the mind games weren’t working, he would resort to more physical abuse. He would slap me really hard, shove me to the ground or into the wall, and punch me as one would punch a grown person. He even became fond of kicking me. Eventually, he was unable to hide the hatred he had for me and he began trying to cut me with box cutters and knives. He made promising threats to kill me. At least one person witnessed this and wrote a sworn affidavit (I till have a copy of it). But the court never heard it when I was being tried.

During a 3½-year period he only saw my mom once. It was at a hardware store, and my dad said he wished he’d seen her in the parking lot, so he could have choked her. I am thankful mom never came to our house, because I didn’t want to see him beat her like when they were married. I missed her, though, and it made it worse knowing that dad would beat me if I went to her for help.

My half-brothers, who continue to insist that my dad was never abusive toward me, did not live with us. They visited on occasion, but my dad was always on his best behavior when they were around. It was always so frustrating that he would act like the perfect dad in public and around others, then turn into such a monster when no one was looking. Rarely he’d slip, though, and his true side would emerge.

The abuse escalated to the point I was in constant fear for my life. I didn’t feel safe with him at all. So, to feel secure, I asked several friends, at different intervals, to stay with me at my house. There was no way my dad would allow this, so they had to sneak over and stay in my closet. I’d bring them food, drinks, or whatever else they needed. It helped me out tremendously. For some reason, my attorney would not allow any of these friends to be subpoenaed to tell the truth.

My dad became psychotically obsessed with making death threats against me. The last time I saw him he was 8 inches taller than me and 170 pounds heavier. On the day I shot him, he had been in an uncontrollable rage most of the day. He was throwing things, yelling, cussing, kicking things, and acting violently unpredictable. I was terrified. At some point he charged after me and forcefully shoved me to the ground. Then with a cold resolve he told me he was about to beat me the way he beat my mom. I still believe, with every fiber of my being, that he was about to end my life.

I ask for your help. I want the truth about my case to come out. I have nothing to hide. I live with indescribable pain and confusing guilt. I have terrible regret and remorse. I did not set forth for this to happen, and that’s the part of my story that never got told. People didn’t believe I was being abused at first, and then when it became clear, they turned away.

Abuse like this is rampant across our country, and especially so in Texas. My story could give someone courage to come forth and stop a bad situation before some other kid is sent to prison–like I was.

۞

Getting his story out is the only thing that Austin has asked of us… not money, or an appeal, or any other extraordinary thing. We will certainly do that–but we should do more.

As part of his plea agreement, Austin signed away his right to appeal. But Paul Henry Gingerich did that, too, and we ignored that and got his unfair sentence vacated. Maybe the same is possible here.

In the light of this story, it seems inconceivable that Austin’s lawyer failed to enter evidence of the sexual abuse into his trial. It was certainly material to the murder. It seems to me that Austin was deprived of effective counsel.

Here are further key facts concerning this case.

Date of the murder: March 8, 2009

Location of the murder: Red Oak, TX

Victim of the murder: Danny Eversole, 57

Plea: 16-year-old Austin Eversole accepted a plea agreement on five charges–guilty to the shooting death of his father, for which he accepted a 40-year sentence. Austin also pleaded guilty to solicitation to commit capital murder (40 years), burglary of a habitation (20 years), theft of a firearm (730 days) and theft (730 days), with all sentences to run concurrently. He will remain in prison a minimum 20 years because statutory guidelines indicate he must serve at least one-half of the murder and solicitation sentences before he is eligible for parole. With the plea agreement, Austin waived his right to appeal.

Austin was 15 at the time of the incident at the family home. Testimony during the juvenile hearings indicated Danny Eversole was shot four times, with police later determining the pistol used was one of two taken from a house where one of Austin’s friends resided. Three cameras also went missing from Red Oak High School several days before the fatal incident and those cameras were found in a vehicle driven by Austin to a friend’s house after the shooting, according to the testimony. Other evidence introduced in juvenile court included the teen’s own statement to police and a voice recording between the teen and a friend that relates to the criminal solicitation charge.

Austin’s juvenile attorney called witnesses who testified the elder Eversole had verbally, mentally and physically abused his son and argued that the teen would be better served in the juvenile system. The case was subsequently transferred from juvenile court to adult felony court.

Court: 40th District Court, Judge Gene Knize presiding

Defense Attorney (court-appointed): Charles Slaton

District Attorney: Joe Grubbs


60 Responses to “austin”


  1. 1 Andy
    June 11, 2013 at 5:30 am

    Its sad to read this and see no other comments here, are people flocking away?

    The word is out there, it just a little shame its taken a while.

    I believe that his dad should have suffered more than the gunshots.

    Its strange when a person violates your home and you feel threatened you can use whatever force necessary to defend yourself even if the other person is killed but kids who are physically abused like this and tortured end up in jail for protecting themselves.

    Its a damn shame.

    • June 11, 2013 at 7:58 am

      Andy, thank you for your comment.

      I gave up a long time ago predicting people’s responses to my posts. Some of the most important posts (to me) have no comments at all, and this is one of them.

      I think that sometimes people don’t know what to say. Austin’s story is truly awful. It has taken me a long time to react, and I expect the same is true with many readers.

      But the important thing is that we do react. We live in a truly awful world, but it would be worse if we didn’t show ourselves as humane and compassionate. I thank you sincerely for getting the ball rolling.

      • 3 Allan Yates
        June 12, 2013 at 8:01 am

        From my perspective, I generally hesitate to comment on anything unless I am certain I know the facts on a given issue. In many (all?) of these cases, only one side of the story is being told. I am not at all implying what is posted here is not the truth, but that I just don’t know what other sides of the story might exist. The old adage: his side, her side, and the truth 🙂

        Even with the Gingerich case, which I have researched substantially (though I only became aware of it a month ago), I am sure I don’t have the whole story, and thus don’t comment on the actual case. However, with his situation, I obtained enough information to satisfy me such that I was willing to publicly state my support and I write to Paul privately. That is, I support a juvenile trial/consequences for him and I support him as a person for his efforts since his incarceration.

        However, even without being willing to comment on the many issues you raise, that does not mean your message is lost. The detailed information you present has opened my eyes to an area of society to which I had previously been ignorant. I do believe many of these kids deserve juvenile rehabilitation rather than adult incarceration. While I have worked with kids through the Scout movement for over a decade, these stories have made such an impression on me that I am now in discussions with the local youth services organisation with respect to volunteering with them. They handle the juvenile court diversion program (restorative justice) as well as other rehabilitation/diversion programs.

        So if your message is reaching me, it is probably reaching other non-commenting folk as well.

        P.S. I am another one of these foreign folk, from Canada 🙂

  2. 4 peterloudon
    June 11, 2013 at 8:33 am

    Speaking as somebody from outside of the USA (I am in South Africa), this is clearly a terrible story, but it is one among many, distinguished mainly by the fact that it is in Texas whereas the others aren’t. From my vantage point, I cannot tell which states treat parricides better and which states treat parricides worse. Overall, the USA seems to treat its kids in the justice system appallingly, and that is why I participate in this forum – I would like to see that change.

    What is being done for Austin at the moment? He articulates many aspects of his case, including birth complications / deficits that, even in our violent country, would see him handled with care and compassion rather than the treatment to which he is currently being subjected. Is there any attempt being made to review his sentence and have it reduced, obtain counselling intervention, or, at minimum, prepare him for his ultimate release?

    • 5 Jonathan
      November 16, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      Hello Peter, I am also South African and full agree with you, we have many flaws in our justice system but none that rail-road underage children into adult court proceedings and sentences. Its unfathomable to me how a country such as America, the self-proclaimed protector of the free world, can treat its children in such a manner particularly when all the world can see that patricide is motivated by fear, desperation and panic, that there are always extenuating circumstances.

      I have begun drafting a letter of support to send to Austin, but with our post office striking as it is now, I have little faith.

      I am also keen to hear of progress in this case and have scoured the site and internet with very little success.

      • 6 peterloudon
        November 17, 2014 at 10:31 am

        Hello Jonathan, good to see another South African here. I don’t know anything more about Austin’s case – sometimes Dan, out of necessity, keeps his cards close to his chest and at others there is simply no movement to talk about. Dan has to make the calls about what is disclosed.

        Regarding our system, I agree with your assessment. It is just a pity that the thug the ANC has thrust into the office of president does not see that stealing R 800 Billion since 1994 means that the prospects for our children are hopelessly undermined. (R 800 Billion would have put every family in a fully paid home and created massive employment in the process.)

        Regarding the Post Office, it’s a lost cause. They needed a R 200 million guarantee just to pay salaries last month, so it’s not just a strike!

        Getting back to the overall American approach, my biggest concern is that most education flows outward from the USA, so if you take a course in juvenile law or prison management, or social work or psychology, you will probably be reading a text book with foundations in a system we agree is flawed. It is a frightening prospect to me and not one I am sure I know the answer to. …

  3. 7 Wolfgang
    June 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    It’s nice to see that’s this blog becomes more and more international, and yes I read it every day when possible, I realized even a small reader and comment writer can change a lot.
    I’m glad that this young boy had a chance to have his case posted here, I wish there will be a lot supporters for him, and I can say Austin Dylan Eversole’s name and his case will by now followed international.

  4. 8 Alex DiMellio
    June 12, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    I was really good friends with Austin growing up… My family was involved in the case. Austin has held a big part in my heart over the years despite what we all faced after the shooting. I’m going to be involved in a documentary about Austin this Friday and I’m very glad I was able to stumble upon this because I haven’t spoken to him since all of this happened. So, hearing his side has really brought some light to the situation.

    • June 12, 2013 at 4:15 pm

      Alex, I am very pleased as well that you have stumbled across this post. Although I had nothing to do with the producers finding you, your interview is one of the two that I helped set up. I hope this is just the beginning of your involvement. Thank you.

    • 10 Nicole Horner
      August 19, 2013 at 8:32 pm

      Hi Alex! I’ve been talking to Austin for about a year now and I just wanted to say that I am really happy to know that you were involved in his documentary! I really wished that I new him before all of this happened. But I’m just happy that I do know him now and hopefully when it is all over!!

  5. 11 Amanda
    June 17, 2013 at 2:37 am

    Hey! I’ve never met Austin and I live across the country, but I’m currently pen-paling with him. I found him on a site that has prisoner profiles looking for penpals and we’re about the same age so I started writing to him. Is there anything I can do to help? Email me and let me know! amandascute@hellokitty.com

    I didn’t want to ask him about what happened so I googled it and came across this. Our letters so far just consist of talking about music, movies, hobbies, and you know, casual stuff! I want to keep our letters happy to hopefully get his mind off things and make him smile, even if it’s just for a moment.

  6. 12 Jeanne
    June 21, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Where on earth was this boys’ defense attorney? This is so wrong to see how we punish a person who suffered so unjustly. Thank God you’re in his corner! Thank God for you!

  7. 13 Courtney
    August 10, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Hey 🙂 This post has made an enormous impression on me. I’ve written a letter to Austin 1.5 years ago but it’s still in my agenda, I’m carrying it with me until I got the guts to post it. It still seems hard for me to write with someone in prison. After reading your blog I think I am going to post my letter, finally. Where will I be able to see the documentary Alex is talking about?

    Greetings from Europe!

    • August 10, 2013 at 10:41 am

      The documentary is still in production, and this particular company has not, as of August 10, finalized its plans for release. Another documentary featuring Austin’s story is in production by a major network, but for this film, too, it is still too early to give you a date, time, and venue. Rest assured that as developments materialize, readers of the Wandervogel Diary will be the first to know.

      • 15 Courtney
        September 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

        Hi,

        Its Courtney again 🙂 Still didnt post my letter for some reason, but Austins case keeps intriguing me. Do you have any news about the documentaries please?

        Thanks!

      • September 14, 2014 at 7:38 pm

        One of the documentaries was cancelled by the network for this year, and the second was postponed.I have other irons in the fire, but nothing imminent. This is par for the course.

  8. 17 Nicole Horner
    August 19, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    This post had made me really happy to see that his words and his side of the story can go out!! It is really sad what he had to go through…I have been talking to Austin for almost a year now! We talk on the phone at least 3 times a week and write each other. I can happily say that Austin is one of my best friends. He is a sweet and loving guy. My best friend and I have made arrangements to meet him this year!

  9. August 22, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Heartbreaking, and so similar to the case of Robert Richardson in MD. These boys do not deserve to be in prison, and they certainly did not deserve the life they were forced to live. As a nation, we have got to do a better job of keeping our children safe. God bless the children…all of them.

  10. 19 Stephanie
    August 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Sadly, abused women and children in our society end up in this situation more times than not. The system is broken when the victims of horrific abuses are re-victimized.

  11. 20 Justin
    September 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    Where are you getting the info!!!! That’s is all a lie. Danny was my dad!! Austin was never abused!! You need to delete this post or !

  12. 21 Brittnie
    September 15, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    This is awful that is on here. Austin was a spoiled teenager who received anything he ever wanted. He was stealing cars and money. When his dad was going to punish him he got mad and wanted to make sure he had the last word. NONE of this is true. You should really have done your research before posting this on the Internet. Those of you commenting you do not know this kid nor this family. I do and have for YEARS. I sure hope this gets taken down and soon. Slander is an awful thing.

    • September 15, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      I should delete Austin’s words? Are you kidding? And why? Because they are unfavorable to a dead man? A man who may have kept his secrets well-hidden?

      I am not Austin’s judge, but his friend. His guilt or innocence of being a “spoiled teenager,” car thief, or an unjustified murderer are of no concern to me. Experience has shown that the courts hand down rulings as erroneous as the stories that float around the media and the Internet. Parricide is almost always misunderstood or misinterpreted. And it is almost always justified. That’s what the numbers say.

      I promised Austin that I would help him get his story told. His story, and his claims. Not mine. I talked to members of his family and told them what I am doing so they would not be blind-sided. They participated in one film already. There will be more.

      So I am not closing Austin’s window to communicate with the outside world. He has every right to speak and explain this sad story from his perspective. I will never break my promise to him.

  13. 23 Brittnie
    September 15, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    You want to post a sad story. Here is a sad story. My daughter will NEVER get to meet her grandpa. Her cousins will NEVER be able to see or kiss their grand dad EVER! His sons will never see their father again. His mother will NEVER hug her son who she adored! Not only did she lose her son she also lost her grand son. Why, because this selfish child took him from us! Oh and BTW this awful grandmother who “disinherited” this murder was also paying for his school while imprisoned. What an AWFUL person, right?! He just recently wrote his sister in law saying how sorry he was and wished he could take it all back. That he missed his father! Hmm.. If he was so awful why would he miss him and want him back? Danny was an amazing man and was fed up with a child who was acting out. Austin was NOT premature at all nor under developed. Austin’s mother was also on DRUGS while pregnant. SHE used to beat AUSTIN NOT his father!! His father busted his ass to provide for him! We would LOVE to speak with you and give you proof to back up everything we have to prove Austin is a liar and manipulative.

    • September 16, 2013 at 11:36 am

      Dear Brittnie,

      I did not realize until now that you married into the Eversole family. It is my intention to address everything you say with the utmost attention and respect.

      That being said, I think it is important for us to talk a little about my “uninvited” role in your business.

      First of all, it gives me no joy or satisfaction to delve into your family’s pain. I am a very emotionally vulnerable person, and there are aspects of what you are dealing with that I wish I could avoid, but it would not be fair to you. You deserve to be heard and listened to. I was not attracted to this work; it found me.

      Austin asked for my friendship and help, and I am committed to providing it, wherever it may lead. His “guilt” or “innocence” are not prerequisites to my support or loyalty. I am Austin’s lifelong advocate unless he asks me to stop.

      I am not an “expert” who will lord over the situation with a bunch of credentials. Just an old man with no particular bones to pick, who is always looking for the pony when only a pile of manure is to be seen. I wish to be of honest service to everyone in a creative, wholistic resolution or non-resolution, however long it takes.

      I have the utmost respect for your husband’s grandmother. She seems to be a very good woman. We spoke on the phone early in the relationship, and I realize she faces a conflicted situation. She loves all her children and grandchildren, and is trying to navigate the best route for her. It is not my intention to make her task any harder than it already is.

      I do not minimize the pain and anger you feel. It is a part of your strength as a “player” in this family matter.I respect it as worthy and natural, and do not believe it needs to make us adversaries.

      Austin and I talk frequently by phone and mail, and I will meet him face-to-face for the first time sometime in February.

      All that being said, any time you wish to contact me off-line and directly, I will welcome the opportunity to talk. I will always be honest with you and give the utmost consideration to your views, whatever they may be. My phone number is 432/ 371-4257. My private email is sowelo2000@yahoo.com.

      Sincerely,

      Dan

  14. 25 Silke
    September 17, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Does Austin have access to a PC? May he also make a call? He has also a lawyer?

    • September 17, 2013 at 5:06 pm

      He does not have access to a PC or the Internet, and we are in the process of finding him good lawyers. As to the calls, you need to make arrangements to be put on his call list and establish a prepaid account with Securus.net. Then he can call you.

  15. 27 Silke
    September 17, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    I am from Germany and I am a good friend of Austin.

  16. 28 Silke
    September 17, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Thanks for your fast answer Dan. You can ask him about me. Today I got a letter from him and tomorrow I send a jpay.

  17. 30 Scott
    September 18, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    Firstly, I would like to sincerely express my gratitude to Dan for all he has done on behalf of youth incarcerated and treated not only as adults but in manners that border on vindictiveness and not justice. I truly appreciate his interest and efforts of behalf of Austin and am glad to see that this is beginning to receive attention from his followers. Whether supportive of Austin or not, I am glad to see people engaged and interested in how we treat youthful offenders here in Texas.

    I met Austin’s mother during her long and bitter custody battle with Danny over Austin. Early on it was apparent to me that both had been abused and that Danny had a hatred so deep for Austin’s mother that he was willing to use a naïve Austin to any extent that would aid him in his vendetta against Pamela (Austin’s mom). I personally witnessed his use of Austin as a pawn to get back at his mother. The only reason Austin lived with his Dad is that he wanted to deprive his mother of her son. I was there the day Pamela gave up her custodial rights in court after Danny drove her to the point of a nervous breakdown. It was a very sad day to see a man hate a woman so much he would deprive her of the right to see her son. I know the other boys love for their Dad but I also know they were aware that their Dad was a deeply flawed and abusive man. All Danny’s children got away from him as soon as they were able, only remaining truly close to their Grandmother who too was bullied by her son. I know Brittnie has a hard time accepting all this but in her heart she knows it is true. I too know Austin has yet to come to terms fully with his own role in all this, but honestly who did he learn his patterns of behavior from? His Dad.

    I agree fully with Dan. Austin never really had a chance to tell and present evidence as to his side of the story due to his ineffective counsel who in my opinion was assigned to him by the court of Ellis County exactly because of his incompetence. For me, one of the biggest realizations that came out of this was how the District Attorneys are 100% political animals out to advance their own careers regardless of whether they are serving justice. These people pursued Austin so vigorously and heartlessly precisely because of his youth and their knowledge of his naivety. They saw only the chance for an easy big victory and long sentence to add to their resumes and had not a whit of care about providing Austin or the citizens of Ellis County, TX with a just outcome to this terrible tragedy.

    I thank all of you who have expressed an interest in Austin and are helping him find some comfort and friendship while he is finding his way in a very harsh Texas prison environment. Please keep him in your hearts and continue to follow his progress.

    We will continue to pursue any avenue that may help Austin get considered for early parole eligibility. During the emotionally charged time this matter was in the courts I never got a chance to fully express to Austin’s brothers the sorrow I felt at their loss of not only their father but their brother. Regardless of whom I truly believe is at fault for the tragedy that occurred no one ever wants to see a man’s life cut short in such a manner. I do deeply hope that time will allow Austin’s family to soften in their hearts and when the appropriate time comes, when Austin has realized his true role and fault in this and when he has served enough time to show he has become the man he wants us to believe he is and can be, that they will be able to stand with us before the State of Texas and say enough is enough and that this young man should be released from his continuing hell and given a chance to be the man I know he can be.

  18. 33 sonja
    September 19, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    😦 sad story.

    • 34 Amanda
      September 19, 2013 at 7:34 pm

      you idiot!!!! my husband only left his father to live with his grandmother because he hated Pamela!!! HE ALWAYS LOVED HIS FATHER!!!! I knew Danny and Austin on a personal level…. YOU DIDN”T!!!!

      • September 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

        Amanda, it is my experience that people may hold views different from our own, but this is rarely the result of diminished intelligence. You are welcome to leave your views here, but in the process please do not use language that is personally insulting to other readers.

  19. 36 Silke
    September 21, 2013 at 11:08 am

    I like what Scott has written…..and besides, I’m a friend from Germany and I believe Austin. He wrote me everything. Austin is a nice guy.

  20. 37 Brittnie
    September 21, 2013 at 11:49 am

    Sike.. Dear you are from Germany. Have you ever actually met Austin? Had you known Danny? I bet the answer to both of those questions would be no. You dear think you can be a pen pal to someone and know for certain they are telling you the honest truth about everything. This kid committed murder. We as his FAMILY know the truth. Manipulative is what Austin is.

    • 38 Nikki
      September 21, 2013 at 11:59 am

      Brittnie if ur so upset about what he did and about this website then why are u typing on it? Leave everyone alone that is on his side. I’m sorry that he killed someone in your family. U need to stop bitching at everyone that is on Austin’s side. No matter what you say is not going to change there mind and this website is going to stay up.

      • September 21, 2013 at 12:31 pm

        No, no, no, Niki. I want Brittnie and others in Austin’s family to post comments here if they wish. Even if their views are different from ours, it is a healthy thing for them to express them here. Please put yourself in their shoes. This involves so many issues which need to be worked out. It won’t happen overnight.

        Austin and I discussed this on the phone this morning. Austin wants his family to understand this from his perspective. He understands why they feel the way they do; he said most family members saw Danny and him at his grandmother’s ranch, where Danny was on his best behavior. He said he can count his family’s visits at Danny’s home (where most of the abuse took place) with the fingers on his hands.

        You have to think about how relentlessly you would resist admitting that you were fooled, and understand this family’s resistance. It is a natural thing.

        A person who is in search of and open to the truth has nothing to fear.

  21. 40 Silke
    September 21, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    Brittnie, I will visit Austin next year then we see…..He knows now that he should have solved it differently….But what he writes to me about why it happened, I believe him….I can understand you well too.

  22. 41 Brittnie
    September 21, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    Nikki Hun how about someone you love is murdered and then slanders his name all over the internet. Austin used to come to the farm WITHOUT Danny all the time and visit. If Danny was so bad why not stay there.. No he started staying HOME more. Danny was gone a lot with work too, and Austin was home alone a lot. I will stand for Danny when he can’t stand for himself.

  23. 42 elexxi
    October 14, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    It is hard to lose people you love to such cruelty, but we each have our own Hell. I was not there. I have not met Austin. I do not know both sides of the story. BUT none of us are without fault and if for once second some of this if not all of this is true Austin deserves a second chance. If you know in your heart that it is not true you should still pray for Austin. God says to pray for our enemies and that the strong must carry the weak. There is no way he was completely psychologically mature. It is a heart breaking story that anyone can treat their child with such disdain. All children are a gift from God and we should show them just how much we love them. I have just started writing to Austin. I do not know much about him, but I do not want to judge him. His past is his past. I have my own past to worry about. We as people need to practice our forgiveness; instead of an eye for an eye or we will all be walking around blind.

    My dad was murdered in my home when I was 18. I know what it feels like to lose someone you love so brutally.

  24. 43 helen
    November 16, 2013 at 4:14 am

    NO judging but I want to do what I can.Austin must be stood by.

  25. 44 Christine
    November 19, 2013 at 8:27 am

    I came across this case as I was looking through profiles on WriteAPrisoner.com. I do believe there is more to many prisoners than just their supposed crimes. I can’t even imagine how lonely it must be in prison, which is why I have been interested in writing to a prisoner for a long time. However, since there is still a couple more months until I turn 18, I can’t write to anyone yet. I read younger prisoners’ profiles on the site, since I think that younger people have so many chances to learn and grow from their mistakes. But I digress.

    Anyway, in my opinion, this is definitely not just something black-and-white. So, Brittnie, I understand it is hard that a family member has died. It doesn’t matter how a family member dies– it will always be painful and confusing. But I also think that it is the very fact that most of the commenters DON’T know your family personally, that makes them able to see the situation more objectively. No one is claiming that Austin had no faults. I’m sure he did, as we all do. But, we can’t just deny and accuse impetuously. Please try to first imagine, what if the things Austin is saying is true? If you weren’t reading about Austin, but was reading about someone you didn’t know? You would think that it takes a lot of courage to come out and tell others what had happened. There are so many adults that tell children to speak out when they are in need of help. Many children do not, in fear of no one listening or thinking they are lying. We have to at least first REALLY listen to what he has to say, before we make a judgement.

    I hope what I just said makes sense. I am not an adult, and I do not live in the US, so this is another point of view. Please don’t just dismiss what I say because I am not an adult. I am trying my best to truly think about the world and the concept of justice.

    • 45 Brittnie
      November 16, 2014 at 12:23 pm

      My point in this is. Austin knows what he did and he has NO remorse. NONE of you people know WHAT is going on other that what this boy is telling you. Did he tell you that he STOPPED all contact with his Fathers mother when she stopped sending him money? Did he tell you he was going to take his fathers body and dump it behind his brothers house in a pond? Austin received everything he ever asked for. When he stopped getting what he wanted he acted out and when his dad mentioned military school guess what. He was killed. . Austin did his crime and is now paying that price. IF he had remorse he would not be on the internet trying to get attention by lying about his father. Who was not a perfect man by any means but he NEVER was physically or sexually abusing Austin… Austin will serve his time and prison and when he is free he can have his second chance at life WITHOUT his family. He may have the EVERSOLE last name but he is no longer part of our family.

  26. 46 nicolle
    December 7, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    I am from new Zealand and just read this, I hope you gain the freedom you deserve x

  27. 47 Dalton Valerius
    April 5, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    This is definitely a sore subject for me but I agree it’s good to get both sides of the story. I was very in valves in this case as I was the first one to call the police in fear that Austin had taken his dad’s life. I had recorded the audio file on my phone in which Austin attempted to solicit me and another friend to help him murder his father and it was quite malicious. I was aware but fully aware of the abuse he had received at the time. Which just in my close circle of friends did not seem like to much as we had stern figures in our life that were mentally n some physically abusive. The two days before the murder me Austin n some other buddies hung out drank some beers n did regularly teenage male activities and had planned to go riding 4 wheelers the day of the murder

    Austin, me and one other had gone to get his 4wheeler the day before from his house n we had to sneak it out which I thought was odd n asked if his dad was okay with it, to which he replied yes still seeming odd to me. The next morning his dad noticed the 4 wheeler missing n got angry n asked Austin about it but Austin refused to tell him we had taken the day previous to go to Austin grandmas the next day which I thought was strange. He then went on to some how influence his dad that I had stolen it n his dad followed me around for awhile that day n got my license plate number. I told Austin he needed to confess to his dad or I would come over n tell him myself what happened cuz I refused to get n lawful trouble because he was to scared to tell his dad of his wrong doing. Shortly after he called a mutual friend who was with me a few times acting weird, causing me n friend to record the next phone call we got in which Austin said in a very dark manner “we need to kill Danny” and “come on we can just hit him n the back of the head” this deeply surprised us as that was the last thing we were suspecting I hear. I then decided to take fourwheeler back to his back pasture n drove around to front of house where we just so happened to see Austin driving his dads truck. Who he had just told us left for work, instantly setting off red flags for us. About an hour went by n my buddy who was closest to Austin called him n asked to tell him what’s going on n he calmy said ” I just walked up behind him n shot him n the head”.

    This kinda behavior is decided in the mind and is very dark. I realize he was out through years of abuse but many are and there is always the chance to leave the situation. He had many friends that would have gladly taken him in. But he chose to end someone’s life in turn, turning into exactly what he despised. His life was ever changed by that decision. As a true follower of the laws of karma I beleive he is reapin what he sowed. And I imagine he realizes that now n is doing what he can to better himself as he was a very nice intelligent person. But evey one has to pay for their actions good or bad.i would hope he gets a chance at therapy to get his natural understanding of love to what it should be I feel for him. But at the same time he murdered his father in cold blood shooting him in the back then agin in the face when he turned around n tried to pay his friends to help him. That’s not the mind of someone who should be living n regular society. Now I do beleive it’s possible to change but only he can make that choice.

    • 48 Silke
      August 3, 2014 at 10:21 am

      Why do you not even write to him Dalton? He would be pleased. I’ll give you like his address.

    • 49 Brittnie
      November 16, 2014 at 12:26 pm

      He could have been taken in by his Grandmother. He could have been taken in by his brothers who loved him. You see most of his abuse was verbal from his mother who spilled lies and hate of Danny to Austin. IF he was being abused he had plenty of people who loved him and would have helped him. BUT he wasnt being abused. The spew of lies on this page is awful.

  28. 50 BenJ
    September 14, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    Thank you for your work helping so many young people in dire need.
    Do we have any updates on Austin’s legal processes and the two documentaries?

  29. 51 Jennifer
    October 6, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    I write with Austin regularly. I’m learning about his past and about the man he had turned into. People do terrible things when they can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. He was being abused and he reacted in a irrational way. He was only 15 though. He was still maturing in his psyche. Everyone against him keeps forgetting he was a teen. Teens aren’t always rational! I pray Austin finds his peace and that everyone involved finds theirs. I believe he is a good man. I’ve never met him, but I don’t need to to know.I hope one day I’ll have the chance to meet him. #teamAustin

    • 52 Brittnie
      November 16, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      I hope that when Austin in finished serving his time he is able to have a normal productive life, but I am not sure that will happen as long as he is lying about his father and their past. We (DANNYS FAMILY) will have nothing to do with him and I for one want my daughter to know NOTHING of Austin while she is a child and i want him to have nothing to do with her. I hope he has a family of his own one day and that he has a great “Life”, what will be left of it. BUT he will not be welcome around THIS family.

  30. 53 Brittnie
    November 16, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    Here is probably the last comment i will post on here..

    As part of the family he destroyed and is slandering every day I do hope that when Austin has served his time and is released he has a chance at a great life. I hope he is able to meet an amazing woman, fall in love and have children of his own. I hope he is able to treat him as amazing as his brother treats me and his other brother treats his wife. I hope that the rest of his life if filled with love but that is all I can hope for him. I hope that with time he will see that slandering his fathers name to “help” his own was not the right thing to do and that his family loved him dearly and if he felt he needed out of his fathers house he could have walked into his mamaws no questions asked. Austin may be an eversole by blood but when he is released his mother is the only family he will have left. We have no want for him around us. I have a child and I want her to know nothing about Austin until she is old enough to understand what he did to her grandpa that she was never able to meet. A man who LOVED his children and grandchildren he would do anything for them. I pray for Austin everyday.

    We grieve the loss of a father, a son, a grandpa AND we grieve the loss of a son, a grandson, and nephew. We lost two people when austin made the decision to shoot his father while his back was turned to him. While he was in the laundry room doing AUSTINS laundry for him.

    • 54 Mary
      January 3, 2016 at 4:23 pm

      Thank you for posting the truth. I think it’s very important, especially since you’re actually in the family and know better than someone who is an outsider. I remember when I first heard about this and thought there was something fishy about all of it. Why would his lawyer not let people who could help him stay out of jail talk at his trial? That doesn’t make any sense. I hope you and your family is doing well. It’s sad to see he won’t be in jail for life, but I guess 40 years is better than nothing. Maybe one day the world will see the truth and see what a liar he is.

  31. 55 DNJ
    March 6, 2015 at 2:17 am

    He was sexually abused? Where does that “Austin’s lawyer failed to enter evidence of the sexual abuse into his trial” come from?

  32. 56 Amy
    May 21, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    Hello,

    my name is Amy, I wrote to Austin a while ago. He seemed like a lovely person, and as I have been abused in my family since I was 7, I do feel like I understand him. Physical, emotional and sexual abuse can lead you to a point of no return, especially when it comes from the people that are biologically programmed to love you. I don’t believe he was lying, even though on the one hand, I don’t know him , one the other hand, I know that he is in prison right now, and he is going to do his time, he would not gain anything from lying, especially about such a sensitive matter. I wish I would be able to meet him in person, because I think that Austin has been through so much that have scarred him so deep , and I wish I could try and help him heal this scars. Abuse can often leave you feeling empty, as if your personality had been stripped away, and I do think that it leads to extreme meters in order for the individual to survive. Yes, you might not be thinking straight, but I can assume that if Austin had not found a way out of it ( and he did find the worst way out possible), he would have eventually killed himself or his mental health would be damaged beyond repair.

    I would really appreciate it if you could give me some update on Austin because I have been thinking about him and his story a lot lately. Also, if there is anyway I could help, I would be glad to do so.

    Thanks

  33. 57 debra busch
    June 10, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    I witnessed this young boy being hit at ayoung age by his dad…his dad continually talkin down to him..would hit the his young kid in the stomach for no reason…verbally and emotionally and physically abusive to both the boy and his mother. I was around them alot because she feared for both their lives and wld escape to my house to get away from it…I quit going out there because it made me sick to my stomach at times on the way he would treat his son and wife…this young man did what he needed to do to survive….

  34. 58 Emely
    November 28, 2015 at 9:47 am

    Hi, I am an old friend of Austin from school and I’m so glad I’ve found this. I always think about him and never knew who I could get into contact with to try and get his information to write him. I would LOVE if someone would Email me his address info. I think about him alot and I remember his face when he stopped to say hello to me on bail. I’d love to write him. Thank you.

    -emely
    Emelycuellar10@yahoo.com


Leave a Reply

