21
Mar
14

another lost day

spring-blooming-blossoms-o

Maybe you noticed that I didn’t report that the spring equinox happened yesterday at 16:57 UTC (11:56 am CDT)… the first official day of spring.

Usually I write my posts the day before they’re published, but yesterday I was interested only in sleeping, and chose (instead of writing) to just re-publish someone else’s article that I’d had “in the can” for a few days. I slept all day and all night. The high-point of my day was dreaming of being with my wife, long dead, a couple of times.

I don’t know if it is attributable to the copious amounts of sleep I experienced or to my dream life, but I awoke this morning much rejuvenated and ready to return to work. I received a visit from my home health care nurse, and my numbers are all good.

Living with the residual effects of a stroke, one has to learn to accept that you will inevitably have good days and bad days, and that this can introduce an element of unpredictability to one’s life. Often times, the main priority for each day is getting two or three tangible things done but, more than anything, maintaining a creative and positive mental attitude, no matter what happens. As I often say to friends who are experiencing some setback in life, we usually have no control over what kind of hand we are dealt in life, but we do have control over how we play those hands. Misfortune can be a better teacher than if you are lucky and unchallenged.

I am going to be spending the next few days cleaning up the house in preparation for the visit, early next week, of one of the readers of The Wandervogel Diary and supporters of The Redemption Project whom I have not personally met before. Although we email frequently and have talked on the phone a few times, this will be an important first-ever test for me. I have gone to great lengths to prepare him not to expect too much, but I am curious to learn what effect his visit to “world headquarters” will have on his reaction to the reality of seeing Estrella Vista and the stroked-out author of this blog.

I’ll let you know how things go.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Ella Fitzgerald performing “Spring Is Here”


3 Responses to “another lost day”


  1. 1 Bob H
    March 21, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Best wishes Dan. One day I may drop by. But from talking to you and reading, I would have no illusions about how simple a life you lead – with all its complexities of situations and law country-wide and the practicalities of living in a sometimes-harsh and sometimes uplifting environment.

  2. 2 Gloria
    March 21, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    Not a lost day if it helped you to have some rest. 🙂
    Take care Dan. Best wishes from me too.


Leave a Reply

