Archive for June 25th, 2014

25
Jun
14

heavy lifting

bxp22388h

Since the stroke especially, I have discovered that I can’t do everything myself. Additional requests have come in, some from readers and supporters, some from fellow advocates, asking me to become involved in additional cases. We are up to eleven now.

I am already working in excess of my capacity; how can I possibly take on more?

Recently a possible answer to this question was presented when one of my readers and supporters volunteered to reach out to a new kid. He wrote a letter to a boy, now charged as an adult and being held on $1 million bail for killing his father, asking the boy if he wants to receive our help. If he replies in the affirmative, I still don’t know how we will raise the resources necessary to help him. Yet, the help has always been there in the past and I have no reason to predict it won’t be there when we need it.

I am beginning to consider the possibility that no one expects me to personally do what needs to be done to support a large and growing community of parricides; I am merely the rallying point for a new demonstration of compassion.

Lone Heron tells me that I’m one of the few people she can talk to. I have made no claims or aspirations as such, but she classifies me as one of her most trusted “therapists.” David Childress and others have told me I am the first person since his trial to have offered basic kindness, to have expressed an interest in hearing his story. I do not consider myself an exceptional person; I simply withhold judgment and always offer a sympathetic ear. But it is very taxing work, and even moreso as I become older.

Maybe it is time for me to share the heavy lifting with others. We need skilled and compassionate correspondents. If you are interested in taking on a greater role, please let me know.

And of course, if you are interested in contributing financially to the mission, we can make good use of money, too.

If you would like to help, you might consider making a gift at this time.

donate hands

To make a contribution to the Redemption Project, please use the link at the top of this page or click here.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Lynrd Skynyrd performing “Lend a Helping Hand”