27
Sep
14

four eyes

kid - eyeglasses

It took a couple weeks of his being here before Alex finally admitted he needs glasses to see farther than across the room. Of course, he made this admission in such a way that I wasn’t sure at first if he actually wanted them or not. But after some additional prodding, he finally admitted that he would find glasses useful, especially for driving and seeing wildlife—which, if it isn’t moving, may as well not exist for him.

We’re going to research who in Alpine is good at optometry, but in the meantime, I thought I’d put out a call for the cost of glasses for Alex. It has been several years since I bought glasses for myself (the last time was when I was in Minneapolis), so I’m sure I’ll have to be sitting down when I find out how much the damned things cost (everybody wants to live like a neurosurgeon these days). Donations will determine our budget.

Please spare Alex the embarrassment of only being able to afford really geeky frames. Well, no, that’s not the real truth… He would actually react very well to cheap frames, but I am the one who will have to look at him. Please be generous for my sake.

If you wish to make a contribution to assist with Alex’s eyeglasses, you can earmark your gift for his benefit.

donate hands

To make a contribution to the Redemption Project, please use the link at the top of this page or click here. Thank you!

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Randy Newman performing “Four Eyes”

 


5 Responses to “four eyes”


  1. 1 john
    September 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    The Texas Department of Criminal Justice has taken Austin Eversole’s glasses away from him. Writing or calling the prison might help him get them back.

  2. September 27, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    There are many places online that do glasses for reasonable price. Much like 1800contacts. Once you get the prescription from the optometrist. He can look at glasses at the dr office if they have them to get an idea what he wants or will look nice.

  3. 3 Steve
    September 30, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    What is the best link to help specifically with glasses?

    • September 30, 2014 at 10:46 pm

      If you go to http://www.redemptionforkids.org/ and click on “The King Brothers’ Trusts,” this will take you to the proper location. Thank you in advance for your help!

      • 5 Steve Booth
        October 1, 2014 at 1:11 pm

        Donation made for Alex’s glasses or as needed for you both there. I hope this doesn’t interrupt my monthly pittance but let me know if any problems. Dan I thank you for all you have done that I had thought of but not taken the action.

        I do have my own things going on with former foster kids and so on but Redemption and its offshoots are special. So glad to get to know more of all of these young people.


Leave a Reply

