17
Oct
14

please help us buy a pickup truck

50 gmc

No, this isn’t the one. It would cost too much money because it’s my age and classified as an antique, just like me. I posted this picture just to get your attention.

The truth of the matter is we have no idea which make and model we will be shopping for. It will be determined entirely by how much money we can raise within a month or so. I have driven very little since the stroke (and that suits me fine), so the truck will be registered in Alex’s name.

This is also part of a strategy I have—a theory really—for keeping Alex engaged with Estrella Vista. None of us likes being compelled to do anything or be anywhere against our free will, and I believe that a secret to keeping Alex here is to provide the means of his escaping anytime he wants to. He has spent enough of his life a prisoner—but no more. Chances are, he’ll mainly use the truck to go into town to get supplies and make friends there (and nearby)… but I could be surprised (though I don’t think so).

Anyway, having a pickup truck will make it possible for a great many tasks to be completed at Estrella Vista, and this productivity will add to Alex’s satisfaction and minimize his frustration.

I have my good friend Allison, an engineer who works at the Firestone test track in Fort Stockton, keeping her eyes peeled for a good deal and a reliable, economical vehicle. She called last week and told me about a Chevy pickup that is Alex’s age, and its owner is asking $2,000. That struck me as a stiff price for a 25-year-old truck, but I guess it depends on its condition… and it does give you the beginning of an idea of what vehicles out here are going for.

We’re in no great rush, though. We need to raise the cash first before we’re really in the market. We’re doing this without debt and living within our means.

If you’d like to help with Alex’s truck, you can earmark your gift for his benefit.

donate hands

To make a contribution to the Redemption Project, please use the link at the top of this page or click here. Thank you!

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Rodney Carrington performing “Pickup Truck”

.

PS: Alex got an eye exam and ordered his new glasses when we made our trip to Alpine on Tuesday. I’ll ask Alex to take a selfie to post for your benefit when the new specs arrive. Thanks to everyone who contributed!

I also got some good news on the same trip: my doctor said the reason I have been so unsteady on my feet and sleeping so much may be that it is time to reduce my blood pressure medication. He eliminated one drug and halved the dosage of a second. I already feel much better.

So maybe Alex will have to list me on his insurance as a second driver!


6 Responses to “please help us buy a pickup truck”


  1. October 19, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    Dan due to my fixed income I have very small amount of funds to spare so what I wanted to ask is if you have a means to sell some collectible items that I could send to you . I have some old strip cards from the 1920’s that include actors, sports figures and history makers, also I have a box of REDMAN baseball cards from 1952 to 1955. If you have interest in these I will need an address to send them to. They are labeled with price tags that were the top price in a book that I use and they are in various conditions, if you have connections or would want to list them in singles or lots you would be welcome to them. Maybe this could assist in expenses for a vehicle…..

    • October 20, 2014 at 9:28 am

      Dear Bill,

      This is a very generous offer, indeed… and it sets a wonderful example of people doing what they can to help. I am unfamiliar with the term “strip cards” and would have to research how these might be converted to cash, but I do know a baseball card collector who can advise me about those. I will get back to you by email as soon as I know something. Thank you!

      Dan

      • October 20, 2014 at 10:50 am

        I have them boxed up and waiting for an address, I hope that this will help….Bill

      • October 20, 2014 at 11:29 am

        I looked up “strip cards” on the Internet, and this looks like it will be a very interesting project!

        The address is: HC-65, Box 243A; Alpine TX 79830

      • October 26, 2014 at 12:54 pm

        I checked the tracking number and I noticed that it arrived Thursday and an attempted delivery stated that your receptacle was full and the box is too big, have you received it or will you need to pick it up at the post office? I was checking to be sure that it arrived………….Bill


Leave a Reply

