22
Oct
14

stupid

too stupid ti insult

Yesterday I called my friend Mary Ellen and asked her to save me from doing something stupid. I explained that I’d received a hateful email from a woman named Teri Wadsworth about one of our kids:

“He’s guilty as sin he needs to serve his sentence he shows no remorse cocky and creepy a serial killer in the making I will start a campaign to keep him in prison he knew what he was doing let him be it’s the best place for him and society.”

I rarely receive such vitriolic emails, and the few I do receive bother me more than they should. I am upset by such expressions of unmitigated hatred being vented towards someone the hater obviously knows nothing about.

Where does this woman get off using words like “cocky” and “creepy?” Her assertion that he is “a serial killer in the making” is completely unfounded by scientific fact and is said simply to inflame others who are as ignorant as she is. The child she has targeted for her fury has been shielded from the media and has done or said nothing that could be interpreted by any rational person as anything but remorse, regret, shame, and embarrassment.

I told Mary Ellen that I wanted to write back to Teri Wadsworth and say that the only creepy person I could see in this picture is Teri Wadsworth.

Mary Ellen said that while most advocates would advise that I just let the comment pass and not engage the hater, ignoring the comment does nothing to diffuse the hate. She surprised me and said maybe I should engage this Teri Wadsworth. But how?

In the past I have “outed” these haters, drawing public attention to their dark hearts and lack of compassion, forgiveness, and understanding… and I can think of no reason not to do the same in this case, too. There are only four Teri Wadsworths on Facebook (my apologies for drawing attention to the innocent people who share her name), and she goes by the email moniker of “ladybug.” But on reflection, it seems to me that pointing out the shortcomings of others does only half the job.

Last week Matt sent me this link to a story of forgiveness that provides a positive example that has received a lot of praise in the media. If the parents of a slain son can see fit to take in their son’s killer, why can’t an uninvolved person like Teri Wadsworth find a place in her heart to feel compassion for a young boy who made one terrible mistake in his life?

To view this remarkable story, please click here.

I don’t know whether Teri Wadsworth will even get by the fact that I have used her name extensively in this post and go on to explore her motives for being so angry, but I really don’t care. There are lots of people in the world whose views create an unflattering impression, and I consider myself fortunate to have so little to do with them.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Brendan MacLean performing “Stupid”


7 Responses to “stupid”


  1. 1 BobH
    October 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    I think it is always worth using the soft answer (maybe a bit late now that you have posted) and ask her for her reasoning or evidence. Just once.

  2. 3 Gloria
    October 23, 2014 at 12:26 am

    Sometimes, some people are not worth one moment of our thoughts.

    There always will be haters, there will be doubters too and non-believers and then…. there will be you to show them how wrong they are.

    Keep up the good work Dan, You are on the right path, she is not.

  3. 4 Livi
    October 23, 2014 at 7:17 am

    I don´t think that this article is good idea. I totally don’t agree with her message, but these words will be like red color for bull. And you can’t discuss rationally with person who is angry… Maybe this is her strange way how she solves her own problems. Of course, it is bad way.

  4. 5 Simon
    October 23, 2014 at 11:46 am

    I cant unterstand the behavior of his family.
    What kind of a mother or father would like to see her 10 yo child in isolation in an adult prison.
    Also that his mother waive his rights at his first police interrogation is a sign that she just need him away.

    Public defender now representing 10-year-old murder suspect.
    http://thetimes-tribune.com/news/public-defender-now-representing-10-year-old-murder-suspect-1.1775974

    • 6 Simon
      October 23, 2014 at 12:26 pm

      The switch from Bernard Brown to a public defender is another hint. His family are not willing to do the best for her child 😦 .

  5. October 24, 2014 at 2:25 am

    It appeared clearly that something seems wrong in this case when Tristen’s former advocate had to withdraw his motion for a release on bail and that his parents have announced that they do not want the boy transferred to a juvenile facility.
    But we should accord to the boy’s parents that they face a delicate situation and it’s certainly not easy for them to deal with what their son has done. Add to this that the juvenile facility is located far away from their home and this reduces the possibilities to visit their son, a son who needs such a support…
    Do they the best for this kid? I cannot say. Expect the results of psychological evaluation and hope that they will lead the judge to move the case to juvenile court.


Leave a Reply

