18
Nov
14

copacetic

copacetic 2

As I read through the readers’ comments to yesterday’s post, I have the impression that I left some things unsaid which may have created the impression that the problem was greater or more unresolved than it was.

It is not my style to talk about problems until they are resolved. This one has been definitely fixed to the greatest possible extent at this point in time.

Alex did his dirty dishes and even put them away. He did an excellent, non-half-assed job, and I thanked him for it. In the course of the day, I washed some of his things, and he thanked me for doing so, too. It was as if an oppressive pall had been lifted from our interactions. The old friendliness is restored.

Yesterday my friend Dusty called and expressed interest in what had been going on. He asked me if Alex had seen yesterday’s post, and I replied that he saw it before it was published and had an opportunity to input. Dusty said that he was impressed that Alex was willing for me to air our disagreement, and commented that such practical experiences could be valuable “teaching moments” for young people who grew up the way that Alex did.

He asked me to convey to Alex that most people who read this blog are not interested in judgment or assigning blame, but are supportive and “in it together with him.”

They know that prison is a tough place to learn and practice cooperation.

They know this shouldn’t count against them.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to Velocity Girl performing “Copacetic”


1 Response to “copacetic”


  1. 1 anonymouse
    November 18, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    There was a time when I could not accept a “gift” or a hand-out from anyone, so suspicious was I of their intentions. It took a long time before I realized that I could never get where I wanted to go, never become whom I wanted to be, without the help of others, and so I needed to change my ways and let my guard down a bit. As you know, it is still not easy for me, but at least now I see my fault and try to work around it as best I can. Give yourselves time and trust will come; sure, it may never be easy for either of you, but if you want the dream of Estrella Vista to become a reality, now is the time to learn about the baggage that our young friends will bring with them.


Leave a Reply

