06
Mar
16

paul gingerich

Paul à Pendleton, hospitalisé.

For the next couple days, please don’t expect any in-depth posts. A couple nights ago, I received a surprise phone call from Paul Henry’s dad, asking me if I was up for a visit from him. He is arriving at Estrella Vista after noon today.

The phone connection was bad, so I was not able to talk long, but I did confirm with Paul senior what a reader in France had asked me about recently in an email: If Paul Henry is suffering from Crohn’s Disease—a rare chronic inflammatory bowel disease that affects the lining of the digestive tract, and for which he has been hospitalized at Pendleton. Once Paul Henry’s dad and I can meet face-to-face, I am sure I will be able to fill you in more on his prognosis and the doctors’ plans for his treatment.

Crohn’s disease can sometimes cause life-threatening complications and cannot be cured. Medications such as steroids and immunosuppressants are used to slow the progression of disease. If these aren’t effective, a patient may require surgery, the first of which Paul Henry has already had. Some people may be symptom-free most of their lives, while others can have severe chronic symptoms that never go away.

This visit from Paul Henry’s dad has been in the works for some time; the only thing that has been in doubt is the exact timing.

Well, I’ve gotta go now. I’ll let you know the details as I learn them.

.

۞

Groove of the Day

Listen to The Moody Blues performing “Go Now”

.

Weather Report

82° and Partly Cloudy

 


11 Responses to “paul gingerich”


  1. 1 BobH
    March 6, 2016 at 11:56 am

    I am delighted that Paul Henry’s dad is visiting you, even though the circumstances are worrying for Paul Henry. The onset of this disease shows how important it is that he has the support of his family.

  2. March 6, 2016 at 12:28 pm

    I am sincerely sorry for Paul Henry. I hope that the quality of the meals served to young inmates of Pendleton was not a factor triggering of this disease. Hope that the young man will receive the appropriate care that require his health. And that it will soon be in a better environment than the one proposed by a correctional institution.

    • March 6, 2016 at 12:39 pm

      Paul Henry is the third person I have known with Crohn’s Disease, and I have never heard of the quality of food being responsible for triggering the disease. In fact, I have just consulted with my home health care nurse (who is visiting here prior to Paul’s arrival), and it is thought that the cause is autoimmune, and can not be triggered by any particular food.

  3. 4 Wolfgang
    March 6, 2016 at 4:38 pm

    Thanks for the update,
    I like to say, I wish all the best for Paul’s health and hope that he can handle that disease mostly symptom free.

    Wolfgang

  4. 5 Melanie
    March 6, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    Realmente esperó que Paul este bien.
    Lamentablemente no puedo ir a visitarlo, o enviarle regalos, por que soy de otro país, me encantaría conocer a Paul.
    Y esperó saber más sobre el, por que me da mucha pena que este pasando por esto.
    Saludos desde Chile. Esperó que se recupere

  5. 6 Sr
    April 25, 2016 at 9:18 am

    When he was released from prison?

  6. 8 Amanda
    August 2, 2016 at 10:13 am

    I hope the judge rules in Paul’s favor. He deserves another chance.

  7. August 5, 2016 at 7:55 am

    Je pense que Paul gingerich dois rester en prison et même peut être a vie c est mieuxque de laisser un criminel en
    liberte

  8. August 5, 2016 at 8:17 am

    J epere qui restera en prison a vie

  9. August 8, 2016 at 9:19 am

    Je pense qu il devrait rester en prison pour le bien de la société


Leave a Reply

