25
Jul
16

broken promises

Crossed Fingers Tattoo.

Day one of the Democratic convention. Get ready for another week of promises and rhetoric and news coverage that you’d best not believe. Too good to be true. But politicians aren’t the only ones with empty words that play us all for suckers.

Emma never made it out here last week. Frankly I’m not surprised. In my heart-of-hearts, I knew her visit was a long-shot. Now she says she’s coming in August, but we’ll just have to see. Most young people are a jumble of good intentions, but with very little follow-through.

I have more faith that I will meet the German journalist next month. A couple days ago, we had a long conversation on the phone and I shared all the gory details of my recent experiences. She seemed most impressed that my commitment to recently-released parricides has not flagged.

However, I don’t think it’s such a big deal. “A promise is a promise.”

But it is sufficiently unusual from her point-of-view. “Yours is one of the most interesting stories I have heard in a long time.”

Are there really that many unreliable people out there?

When I seemed to doubt her, she added: “And I’m of Russian extraction. We don’t just say things to make people feel good.”

Isn’t “Trust but Verify” also of Russian origin? We’ll see how it goes.

.

۞

Weather Report

95° and Clear to Partly Cloudy


1 Response to “broken promises”


  1. July 25, 2016 at 11:56 am

    Trust but Verify? It’s not specifically of Russian origins. Here we use as a saying “confidence doesn’t exclude control”, especially if you work in aviation.


Leave a Reply

